PATRICK STEPHENSON

Earthbound concerns of an ascendant adult

Jonathan Ames Exchange

leave a comment »

Being the e-mail I wrote Jonathan Ames on 1/29/07, preserved for posterity. I posted this on Facebook as well, with another introduction: “Jonathan Ames is one of the best writers ever. Here’s what I wrote to him, spontaneously, on this day off from work at 4pm. Some warning before you read it, though. It’s very touchy-feely.”

From: [censored!]
Subject: Hello Sir Ames
Date: January 25, 2007 4:12:21 PM CST
To: [censored!]

I’m writing to inquire: will you have a new book out soon? I must know. “Wake Up, Sir!” was definitely one of the best books I read last year (I sometimes pick it up and re-read certain parts at night, when I can’t sleep, because it relaxes me) and I’m very much in love with your essay collections and other novels.

Also, the last line of your recent story in Esquire broke my heart. Please continue to do this. Oh, thanks to you, I just started the 1st Movement of Anthony Powell’s “A Dance to the Music of Time.” I love it so far.

Thanks very much,
Patrick Stephenson

Three days and thirty minutes later, I received a response—an e-mail from a writer I admire in my inbox! There’s nothing personal here, so I don’t feel worried posting it. One concern: why so many ellipses, Jonathan Ames?

From: [still censored]
Subject: Re: Hello Sir Ames
Date: January 28, 2007 4:51:38 PM CST
To: [also censored]

won’t have another book out until some time in 2008, a graphic novel entitled ‘the alcoholic’ . . . another collection will also come out, either in 2008 or 2009 . . . had a piece recently in the ny times if you search my name . . . and will have a piece on nerve.com sometime soon . . .

thanks for your interest!!

all the best,

jonathan ames
http://www.jonathanames.com

This [I don’t know how long this link will last. Hurry.] is the Esquire story I mention in my e-mail. Esquire published it as part of The Napkin Project, wherein they requested various writers use the napkin as medium. The Ames story is best if read this way, especially because it preserves the shock value of the last line.

Written by patiomensch

February 10, 2007 at 10:24 pm

Posted in Books, Jonathan Ames

Leave a Reply

