PATRICK STEPHENSON

Earthbound concerns of an ascendant adult

2008 To Do

with 2 comments

1. Appreciate the people in my life. My girlfriend & my family in particular. Never stop appreciating them.

2. Exercise at least three times weekly, with increasing intensity. Treadmill and weights. On my own. In Fallon’s empty ninth-floor gym. Bring a towel to shower there—while at work on lunch. Plus, flip flops to avoid whatever’s gestating on the shower-room floor. The warts.

3. Be healthier, by eating healthily. Eat in moderation. Not so much Chipotle, nor foods for lunch that make me sluggish and tired. More fruit, albeit smoothied. More vegetables, albeit disliked.

4. Continue developing opinions about important subjects, like the war(s), and presidential candidates (whoever they’ll be), and the environment. May these opinions be strong, and compassionate, and correct.

5. Spend less time inside my head, being too dreamy at times and at others too willing to believe the forces of the world, etc., are aligned against me. Express my thoughts in writing and in speech more often, as expression of any sort is always a great relief. A catharsis.

6. Strive to be exacting in my work as a proofreader, and never take Fallon—or the way working there has changed my life—for granted.

7. Refuse to give up hope. Remember to be patient. Realize there’s no problem, at least with respect to my own life, that I can’t solve. No nihilism. No pessimism. Idealism, optimism. These are better.

8. More music-listening, more reading, more (should the writers’ strike not prevent it) movie-going.

9. Less artificing. Stop trying to shape my life into a narrative and just live. My life is not a book or a movie. It’s just a life.

10. Give up old grudges and try not to form new ones. Carrying that hate and old resentment weighs me down. Better to forgive the people who’ve wronged me, and recognize I’ve wronged people without being aware of the wronging. If not, draw strength from these grudges and keep doing well to prove them wrong.

11. Ever stronger. Fewer fears.

12. Remember to buy a chocolate shake from China Tea Garden occasionally, cos the walk down there’s nice and the shakes are tasty.

Also, I want to skydive.

Written by patiomensch

December 24, 2007 at 4:30 am

Posted in Personal

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s a lot of self-improvement.

    You’re making me look all shallow and shit. Where’s the mindless consumerism?

    Maddie

    December 24, 2007 at 3:13 pm

  2. All good, particularly the one about giving up grudges. Take it from an old lady, grudges only serve to make you bitter and ugly.

    Now then, it’s also a good time of year to restate the Erin Commandment:

    Don’t be an asshole.

    Erin O'Brien

    December 31, 2007 at 11:20 am


Leave a Reply

