PATRICK STEPHENSON

Earthbound concerns of an ascendant adult

Favorite Albums/Songs of 2007

leave a comment »

Yeah, another year-end list—I never tire of them. This one’s about music: my favorite albums and songs. I’d write odes to each and every album, each and every song, but assembling these two lists has exhausted me. (A few of my choices may seem… lame, because they’re on tons of other lists [M.I.A., LCD Soundsystem, ahem]. But I can’t really help that, can I? I liked ’em the best.)

Top 10 Albums of 2007 (in no particular order)

1. Andrew Bird – Armchair Apocrypha (Plus, extra points because it was recorded in the Twin Cities.)
2. Nine Inch Nails – Year Zero
3. The Harlem Shakes – Burning Birthdays
4. John Vanderslice – Emerald City
5. LCD Soundsystem – Sound of Silver
6. Kevin Drew & Broken Social Scene – The Spirit If…
7. Radiohead – In Rainbows
8. Cloud Cult – The Meaning of 8 (Extra points for being a Minnesotan band.)
9. The Good, The Bad & The Queen – The Good, The Bad & The Queen
10. M.I.A. – KalaRunners-up: Of Montreal, Hissing Fauna, Are You the Destroyer? ; Patrick Wolf, The Magic Position ; Stars, In Our Bedroom After the War ; Jens Lekman, Night Falls Over Kortedala. Best Soundtracks: Juno, The Darjeeling Limited, Hairspray, Once, Grindhouse: Death Proof. (Worst Soundtrack: Across the Universe.)

Top 25 Songs of 2007 (no order once more)

1. John Vanderslice, “The Parade.”
2. LCD Soundsystem, “Someone Great.”
3. Andrew Bird, “Dark Matter.”
4. Ra Ra Riot, “Each Year.”
5. Radiohead, “All I Need.”
6. Broken Social Scene & Kevin Drew, “Gang Bang Suicide.”
7. Stars, “Take Me to the Riot.”
8. The Good, The Bad & The Queen, “Kingdom of Doom.”
9. The Blow, “Parentheses (Rory Philips Remix).”
10. M.I.A., “Paper Planes,” or “$20.” (M.I.A. Tie!)
11. Shout Out Louds, “Normandie.”
12. Of Montreal, “The Past is a Grotesque Animal.”
13. Peter Sarstedt, “Where Do You Go to (My Lovely).”
14. The National, “Mistaken for Strangers.”
15. Cloud Cult, “Chain Reaction.”
16. Akron/Family, “Lake Song/New Ceremonial Music For Moms”
17. Emily Haines & The Soft Skeleton, “Sprig”
18. Flight of the Conchords, “If You’re Into It.”
19. Modest Mouse, “March Into the Sea.”
20. Nelly Furtado, “All Good Things Come to an End.”
21. Casey Shea, “Chop Suey.”
22. David Lynch, “Ghost of Love.”
23. The Harlem Shakes, “Carpetbaggers.”
24. Patrick Wolf, “Magpie.”
25. Jens Lekman, “A Postcard to Nina.”

Written by patiomensch

December 31, 2007 at 8:52 am

Posted in 2007, The Music I Like

Leave a Reply

