PATRICK STEPHENSON

Earthbound concerns of an ascendant adult

Duathlon Training: Week One

with one comment

I’ve been at this for a week now. Last Saturday was difficult and, as I wrote in the last entry, shocking. Running sucks. Who cp1_0801091407knew? I worked out at the gym four of the last seven days and worked out otherwise on the remaining three (I biked a hell of a lot; I ran Hennepin Ave.; I practiced intervals at Lake Harriet with Weez).

The pinnacle of the meditative moments I previously mentioned took place on a curb outside the hardware store across from Whole Foods. I was wiped out from biking up, down and around Summit Ave., and with a bottle of water in hand, I sat on the curb and drifted out. Drifting out is something I don’t do well. Part of my personality is that I’m highly aware of what’s around me—traffic, people; it makes me observant and intuitive, but it means that being anywhere is an intense experience unless I can shut that down. Briefly, on that curb, it was as though I existed outside the non-stop engagée. Outside time, I’m telling you. Detached and at peace. I like that I’m engaged, but a vacation from it’s relaxing.

A Chuck Palahniuk quote I read this week perfectly describes the way I felt: “Being tired isn’t the same as being rich, but most times it’s close enough.”

Progress-wise, I made a treadmill breakthrough on Wednesday. I’m accustomed to intense biking and elliptical workouts, but I’ve never been a runner. My stiff-legged running last Saturday had me thinking, “Maybe I am not meant for this.” But on Wednesday night, as I watched Keanu Reeves chase a Ronald Reagan-costumed Patrick Swayze on my treadmill’s TV*, it felt like my legs were breaking out of a cage, Forrest Gump-style. Suddenly, there wasn’t pain, and I could run as much as I wanted. It was tremendous. Today, I ran faster and farther than I ever have, and it felt good.**

*Point Break: Awesome movie. **One side effect: Working out this much means my testosterone level’s pretty high, and I have to work at not being an asshole.

Written by patiomensch

August 1, 2009 at 11:35 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I commend your efforts! Thumbs up on the shirt, too.

    I’ve heard rumors of “runners high” but as far as my knees are concerned, running is reserved for being chased.

    wr3n

    August 2, 2009 at 5:31 pm


Leave a Reply

